New Beginnings

Did you know that this blog’s second birthday has come and gone? At one point, this blog served as a place for me to post my 365 project, you know, the one where you take a photo every day for a year? I don’t think I ever made it past day 120. It was a really good exercise to force myself to get out there and shoot, but I found that by the middle of it, I just felt burnt out. I think at the time I needed that project to keep me busy, there was a lot of things going on at the time and just thinking about it now is kind of painful.

After 365 had failed, my focus shifted to taking photos of what I was doing on the weekend with my friends and this blog also served as a way to narrate and share my travel photos, because let’s be honest: I’ve been stinking lucky to travel the amount I have in the past few years.

Now I find myself at another crossroad and the activity in my little corner of the internet (read: this blog) has all but fizzled out. I’ve been (slowly) recovering from an injury and it’s almost completely killed my creativity. It’s hard to push myself to do anything when I don’t want to even get out of bed, but I’m trying.

One nice thing that’s come out of all of this is that I’ve got a new project kicking around in my brain. It’ll probably take me a couple of months to figure out how I’m going to go about it, but I’m starting to get excited and feel closer to normal now. I’m not sure if I’ll be posting it on this blog or my portfolio (because I have one of those now that I’m almost ready to make the jump to something new!) but I can figure that out somewhere down the road.

When I contemplate what’s going to happen in the upcoming year, I think about all the change that is ahead of me. My degree is going to be wrapping up pretty soon, and I might be changing my area code for a while as well. It’s all quite exciting and I’m starting to feel all grown up which is funny because I always told myself (and will continue to) that I was never going to grow up.

If you’ve manage to read that wall of text and have been following my blog for the last while, thank you for being there for me for the past two years, I’m not completely sure where I’ll be heading next, but I want you to stick around and be there with me every step of the way.

3 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Just looked through your portfolio. Girl…YOU are talented. And Im not just saying that either. I own a photography business…and what you capture in your photos is what I always am “going for”…but cant quite pin point. I know you are figuring things out…but just from the little bit I have seen of you…I know whatever road you choose to go down will lead you to success and fulfillment. Follow your gut. The best is yet<3

Leave a comment