favourite things

I’d like to think that I’ve always been a creature of comfort. I like being at home, ignoring the rest of the world and reading books with a big ol’ mug of tea. Bonus points to me if I’ve managed to swaddle myself with two blankets and am tucked into bed. When I was little (in age, not in height), I would consume books at an astonishing pace (figuratively, obviously). I started getting super into reading when I was six – I blasted through the Boxcar Children, Lemony Snicket, and other series of that nature. I was eight when I was introduced to one Mr. Harry Potter, and my world came to a dead stop. I started to compulsively read for hours on end (we’re talking seven hours here), skipping meals and reading until the sun came up. Call it a bad habit, but it stuck. You should have seen me when I was fourteen and realized the Chronicles of Narnia was over 1,000 pages long. I was so happy to get lost in another world, surfacing only for meals out of necessity.

Maybe it’s just me, but it makes me so sad when I see children glued to the screen of a tablet instead of a book. Of course I’m biased since I looove reading, but I’d like to think all those years I spent reading led to some sweet imagination building time and I really think those kids are missing out!

Cause really, finishing a really good book is one of the most satisfying feelings in the world.
I primarily read fiction (and cookbooks) but I just finished this book and it had me smiling ear to ear. An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth is Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield’s memoir, and god damn is it memorable.

I don’t think I can really write a proper review on it since my brain has been feeling mushy already from all the physics knowledge I’ve been trying to absorb before the Winter term of school gets rough, but it was upliftingly (I made up this word just now) positive and gave me the small kick in the pants I needed to head in the right direction. I like it enough to include it on my very short list of favourite things. Now with that out of the way, you’ll have to excuse me as I become recluse and try to learn how particles and waves work.

4 thoughts on “favourite things

Leave a Reply

