Sour Cherry Gin Fizz

With the temperature cooling and back to school approaching, I’ve been trying to enjoy the last few moments of Summer. In my backyard I have three sour cherry trees, and with me being in Europe I missed the opportunity to pick em. Luckily I have friends and family who love me enough to pick, pit, and freeze all the cherries for me. My mother is such a champ for pitting that many cherries. I’m going to try in the next little bit to showcase my favourite way to use these suckers, and we’re going to start with the ubiquitous gin fizz.

Sour Cherry Gin Fizz

makes 4 

1 1/2 – 2 cups sour cherries, pitter (if frozen, bring to room temp)
1/4 cups white sugar + more to taste
gin
san pellegrino or soda water
ice
lime wedge for garnish

In a blender, combine white sugar and sour cherries and blend until cherries are liquified. Taste the mixture – is it too sour for you? Add more sugar to suit your taste, and then give the blender another go. Strain the mixture through a fine mesh sieve into a small glass jar or measuring cup. Pour about two fingers of the sour cherry mixture into a tumbler and top it off with a finger or two of gin. Add ice cubes and fill the rest of the glass with San Pellegrino or soda water. Garnish with lime and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Sour Cherry Gin Fizz

    • Thanks! :)
      It’s pairs real nice. If I don’t have fruit on hand I use flavoured bitters (rhubarb, cherry, peach, etc) and that also takes gin up to another level!

Leave a Reply

