Things I’ve learned in London

Six days in London at times felt like only six minutes, and at others felt more like six years. There were times where I thought we’d never find enough things to do in this city, and times where I felt so overwhelmed by possibility. I am so grateful for the friends we made here – they made leaving home so much more bearable. I was so excited to leave and embark on a new adventure, but once I got here, all I wanted to do was turn around and go home. I don’t think I’ve really been on a trip before where I didn’t have a “purpose” (read: competition, family function, wedding, etc.) I had no obligations to be anywhere, we could go anywhere we wanted. The world was (and is) one giant proverbial oyster and I had no idea what to do it. I still have no idea what to do with it. I’m a fan of structure. I’m a fan of knowing what I’m doing always. I can’t fathom the thought of booking a plane ticket, showing up and then doing whatever feels right. That’s not how my brain works, but I’m learning. London has been a real peach. We’ve walked to Camden Lock, Covent Garden, and Portobello Road. We’ve walked to Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, down Kensington, and South Bank. We’ve even walked to that little road crossing right in front of Abbey Road Studios. We’ve walked a lot. We’ve also gotten lost a lot. Even though it started off a little scary for me (read: homesicky), London has been wonderful and I think I’d like to come back here someday and visit again. If there’s anything I can take away from this experience, it’s that my feet hurt from all that walking. I’m renting a bicycle in Paris.

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned in London

  1. You’re amazing and I miss you! Hope you’re having a wonderful time and I love reading about your adventures! xoxo

Leave a Reply

