Wooden Coasters

I’m kinda nervous to post this since it’s my first DIY! Last week, my younger brother was “pruning” some trees and I thought the cut branches would make the loveliest of coasters. I decided to paint them in bright fun colours, but staining them a darker colour would work beautifully too. This is a super easy and quick DIY to do on the weekends, can anyone say instant satisfaction?

You will need:

  • six to ten half inch slices of wood (I used maple here, but feel free to use whatever you have – birch would be a beauty)
  • 120 and 200 grit sandpaper
  • painters tape
  • acrylic paint
  • small paintbrush
  • clear wood finish or lacquer

 

Using a Miter saw, cut six to ten half inch slices of wood. Using 120 grit sand paper, sand any rough edges or sides down. Then smooth the top edge a bit to give it a nice rounded look. Switch to 200 grit sandpaper and sand the top until it’s really smooth. Wipe down the surface with a soft cloth, and then you can start painting! On some of the coasters I free handed doodles, and others I wanted nice clean lines – that’s where the painters tape came in. Once you’re happy with your paint job let the coasters dry to the touch, and then spray on a clear wood finish. Dry overnight, and your coasters are ready to use!
I think I’m going to try and find a good lacquer for these babies so they have a nice glossy finish, but for now the Varathane finish will do.

Happy Saturday!

 

3 thoughts on “Wooden Coasters

  1. What a great idea! When I looked at the first picture I thought they would fit perfectly with the decor of a summer cottage at the beach, but looking at the rest of the pictures, I can see where you could actually decorate them to fit in anywhere! Christmas coasters would be very festive with the birch bark left on with maybe a few tiny pine cones and\or pine sprigs hot glued on the sides. It would be a nifty project for kids too, especially for Halloween or Easter. I’m definitely going to make them! Thank you for posting about the wood slice coasters!

    • I really like those ideas! Truthfully I was just going to stain and varnish the wood slices and call it a day, but I think we could all use a little bit more colour in our lives, no? :)
      Have fun making the project your own!

      • Thank you.

        The more I think about them, the more I realize it is just such a great idea! It could be a Sunday school project where kids bring in small photos of themselves or their pets and decoupage them on the coasters or even paint a scene on them. The possibilities are endless. I am so glad I read your post today!

Leave a Reply

