Guinness Chocolate Cake

The first time I baked a cake, it was a spectacular flop. I so nervous about it and I pulled it out of the oven as quickly as I could (I have no idea why this made sense at the time), and ended up with a half mushy, half cakey lump. I wasn’t very happy with it, and my mother wasn’t so happy about the mess I left either. So I practiced making cakes throughout high school, and I’d like to think I got significantly better than my first attempt. A few years ago I stumbled upon this recipe and thought, “I like booze, and I like cake. Let’s make this!” I found out after that I also like booze in my cake.

I’m not much of a chocolate person, and neither are some of my closest friends. Yet we’re always reaching for this cake. Reasoning? It’s good. Sound logic right? I find that the Guinness cuts down on some of the chocolate notes, and you’re left with the perfect mix of chocolate and stout-y goodness. Also the icing is good. So good that you’ll steal some (or all) of it off someone else’s plate. It’s super light, fluffy, and downright naughty (icing sugar + cream cheese anyone?), obviously this cake is something made for cheat days.

Make sure to leave the sides bare when you’re frosting this bad boy, since you want it to resemble a pint of the black stuff and once you take a bite, you’ll be on your way to having the best of parties in your mouth.

Guinness Chocolate Cake

1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 c. Guinness
3/4 c. cocoa powder + 2 tbsp for greasing pan
2 + 1/4 c. all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 + 2/3 c. sugar
2 eggs
2/3 c. sour cream
2 tbsp vanilla

frosting

1 + 1/3 c. cream cheese
1 + 1/2 c. icing sugar
2/3 c. cream

Preheat oven to 350F, line the bottom of a greased 10-inch cake pan with parchment paper. Grease the parchment paper, and then  dump your reserved 2 tbsp of cocoa into the pan and shake it around until the pan (bottom + sides) is nicely coated. Knock out any excess.

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat, and then add the Guinness and cocoa powder. Let it cool to room temperature. In a mixing bowl whisk flour, sugar, and baking soda. Add in your Guinness mixture and combine until all the flour has disappeared. Add vanilla, sour cream, and eggs, mix until thoroughly combined.

Pour batter into greased pan. Gently tap the pan on the counter to get out any air bubbles, and then pop into the oven for an hour. If you run your knife through the centre of the cake and it comes out clean, boom. You’re done. If there are still crumbs on the knife, pop the cake back into the oven checking every five – seven minutes. Let the cake sit for about 20 minutes, and then take it out of the cake pan, and place on a wire rack to cool to completion.

icing

Beat cream cheese until smooth with no lumps in a stand mixer (or use a hand mixer). Add in icing sugar, and beat until combined. In another bowl, whisk whipped cream until hard peaks form. Fold the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture to combine.

assembly

Place cake on a stand, frost the top with icing, and then eat!

via google image search

One thought on “Guinness Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

