Baked Sweet Potato Fries

There’s this super annoying tap on your shoulder that won’t relent, tap tap tap. It’s me. It’s me whispering, “I’m baaaack” in a way too happy sing-song voice. I’ve been hiding for the last little bit. After I was put on a fun free diet by my naturopath, I just wanted to lay in bed and cry over the lack of baguettes in my life.

I’ve been learning what I can eat, and what I can’t (pretty much everything it feels like), and along the way I made a new friend. My new friend’s name is Sweet Potato and lemme tell you, he’s (she? it?) delish. I never really thought twice about this root veggie since it never had a home in my pantry, but after being on this diet and trying to solve the riddle, “What has carbs, but doesn’t start with ‘B‘ and ends with ‘read“, I’ve been noshing super hard on these fellas. My favourite way to eat sweet potatoes are in the fry form (duh), and long story short: Pam + Sweet Potato = Sweethearts 4Eva aka it’s my new staple aka they’re here to stay.

Sweet Potato Fries

Makes 2-3 servings

1 fairly large sweet potato

olive oil

paprika

cayenne

salt

black pepper

1 tbsp corn starch (optional)

Preheat your oven to 450˚F

Slice your sweet potato in half, and then into  3/4 inch sections. Lay your sections flat and chop into fry sized bits (1/2 inch). Toss into a bowl and coat with enough olive oil so everything looks nice and shiny (great cooking terms, am I right?).

I don’t really measure the paprika or cayenne, I kinda just wing it and use a 1:1.5 (respectively) ratio of the stuff to the size of my potato. (But if my potato is on the large size, I usually find myself measuring a tablespoon of paprika, and a tablespoon and a half of cayenne…)

Sprinkle on the seasoning and then throw a pinch of salt and a few cracks of black pepper on for good measure. (If using corn starch, add it in now!) Give everything a good toss, and then lay the fries out onto a foiled (or parchment covered) baking sheet. Make sure the fries aren’t touching so they can crisp up nicely, and pop it into the oven one tray at a time (super important if you want crispy fries!!).

Bake for 15 minutes, flip the fries, and return to the oven for another 13-15 minutes.

Dip fries in Sriracha Ketchup (I mix Sriracha hot sauce and ketchup together, fancy), and shamelessly snack on all three servings.

PS. I find that the corn starch makes the fries extra crispy, and use it when I’m in a hurry and put more than one tray at a time in the oven.

PPS. Don’t actually eat all three servings in one go. (Kidding, I won’t tell)

3 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Leave a Reply

