Rosemary and Lavender Soda Bread

Image

I may or may not have thrown a tantrum of epic proportions last night over something silly. It may or may not have been over the fact that I couldn’t make bread because the only yeast we had in the house expired four years ago. After I cooled off and my mother stopped laughing at me (thanks mum), I compromised and an idea hit me in the face. Soda bread!!

I was planning on using kiss my spatula’s recipe, but ended up not having all the required ingredients. So I searched for another and landed upon this.

This bread is dead easy to make and fills the house with the most delicious of scents. Feel free to dunk it in soups, or smear it with jam and butter, and have it with tea.

I also had some fresh rosemary and dried lavender kicking around (and this combo is freaking lovely by the way! SO GOOD), but feel free to put whatever you want in this loaf…I hear it takes to everything.

Adapted from Dinner With Julie

1 ½ cups, all-purpose flour

1 ½ cups, whole wheat bread flour

2 tbsp, sugar

1 tsp, baking powder

1 tsp, baking soda

½ tsp, salt

½ cups butter, chilled

1 ½ cups, buttermilk

1 sprig of rosemary

Pinch of dried lavender flowers

Preheat oven to 375°F  (190°C)

In a large bowl, combine both flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Cut the chilled butter into cubes and toss into the dry mixture. Using your hands, rub (yes, rub) the butter into the dry mix until it’s fully incorporated – you should end up with a crumbly mixture.

Pull all the leaves of rosemary off its stem, give it a rough chop, and throw it in. Roughly chop the lavender flowers and throw those in also. Mix once more, and then make a nice big well.

Add in your buttermilk, and stir until incorporated. Turn out onto a floured counter, knead that sucker 10 times, and then shape it into a ball. Place on a baking sheet or greased cake pan (9”) and pop into the oven for an hour.

Knock on the bread to see if it sounds hollow. Does it? Perfect! You’re good to go.

Cool on a rack, and then devour.

Image

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Rosemary and Lavender Soda Bread

    • It was actually my first time making bread also, so it came out much better than expected! I woke up this morning and found that only a quarter of the loaf was left… :)

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

