Chocolate Chunk Banana Loaf

To my mother, I am known as the banana bread queen. I don’t know if this is because I make good banana bread, or because I tend to make 5 or 6 loaves at once.

 Image

Banana bread is one of those things that I’ll never say no to. Why? Because it’s delicious, duh.

I also like how easily I can sneak chocolate into these loaves. Mmm, chocolate.

Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread

(adapted from Simply Recipes)

4 bananas, smashed

1/3 cup, melted butter

¾ cup, sugar

1 egg

1 tsp, vanilla

1 tsp, baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 ½ cups, all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350F (175C)

Smash your bananas. (I find smashing my bananas on a plate with a fork to be the most efficient and fun way to get a mostly even consistency.)

 Image

And it looks funny when I smush it through a fork. See?

Stir in your melted butter, and then add the sugar, egg, and vanilla all in one go. Mix together and then sprinkle in your salt, and baking soda. Add the flour, mix, and it should look this.

Image

At this point, you can pop your mixture into a greased 4×8 loaf pan, and bake for an hour, OR you can sweeten things up and add chocolate.

 Image

Chop 2 ounces each of white chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate, and toss in all the white chocolate and one ounce of the semi-sweet. Mix together, and then pour into the greased pan. Take the reserved 1-ounce of semi-sweet chocolate, and sprinkle over the batter. Bake for an hour, let it cool, and eat the whole loaf by yourself with a big cuppa tea.

Leave a Reply

