Strawberry Spinach Smoothie

My parents went on a trip last year to Mexico for a week, leaving my brother and I to fend for ourselves. The day before they left, they went grocery shopping and bought five heads of lettuce. All I could think was, what am I supposed to do with all this lettuce? I don’t even like lettuce.

So I went to my chef friends and asked them for advice. Every single one of them said “Lettuce wraps, duh.”

Thanks, but no thanks. The inspiration for throwing greens into a smoothie came from super strong Booster Juice cravings I had and I guess the rest was history?

I finished off them lettuce heads, and lately I’ve been craving green smoothies again.

I used spinach this time around because of its delicate flavour, and it blends WAY easier than lettuce does (read:no fibrous pieces).

Image

this recipe fits one super large cold cup and then some. (20-24 oz?)

2 cups, frozen sliced strawberries

2 big handfuls of spinach

2 cups, water

1/4 cup, vanilla flavoured greek yogourt

1 tbsp, maple syrup or honey

Throw everything in to a blender and give it a whirl (with the lid on please!)

Image

Dump into a cold cup, and it’ll look like this.

Image

Slurp.

Image

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Spinach Smoothie

    • I opt for frozen berries this time of year, and even if I use fresh berries, I freeze em anyways since the frozen berries help thicken up the smoothie!

Leave a Reply

